Patient Rights & Responsibilities

病人權益及責任

病人的權益

作為一位醫療消費者,您擁有重要的病人權利以確保您可獲得應有的醫療服務。為您承擔您的法律責任及並為您的治療做出決策的人,亦可擁有您身為醫療消費者的一切醫療權益。清楚了解您的權益及承擔責任,您便會成為一位明智的醫療服務消費者。

本病人權利文件綜合了聯合委員會的規定;加州行政法規第22篇第70707項;健康和安全法令第1262.6,1288.4及124960項,及42 C.F.R. 第482.13項 (Medicare參與條件)。

病人的權益包括,但並不衹限於以下各項:

  1. 享有優質周到、有禮及舒適的護理。您的文化背景、社會心理、精神、個人的價值觀、信仰及偏好亦獲得尊重。
  2. 您入院後,院方應馬上通知您家人 (或您指定之代理人) 及主診醫生。
  3. 知道主診醫生,其他參與治療的醫生及醫護人員的姓名及他們在醫療業務上的關係。
  4. 您以您能明白的術語得知您的健康狀況,診斷,預後,治療過程,潛在之康復機會及護理結果(包括未預料到的結果)。你有權商討、參與制定及執行您的治療計劃。你有權討論在您的治療過程衍生之倫理問題,包括決定醫療方式所帶來之衝突解決、不進行復甦服務以及放棄或撤除維持生命治療。
  5. 您對您的治療作出決定,並獲得建議之治療或程序的資料,以便作出「知情的同意」(informed consent)。除緊急情況外,此資料應包括程序或治療之說明,該治療在醫學上的重大風險,其它可選擇的治療過程或不治療,以及各自的風險,還有施行此程序或治療者的姓名。
  6. 在法律淮許可的情況下範圍內,您有權要求或拒絕治療。然而,您無權要求進行不適當或無必要之治療或醫療服務。您有權不理會醫生之忠告而自行出院。
  7. 如醫院或醫生對您的之治療進行人體實驗,應先讓您得知,您有權拒絕參與此類研究計劃。
  8. 任何合理之服務要求可得到合理回應。
  9. 適適當評估及管理您的痛楚、痛楚及舒緩痛楚措施的資料,以及參與疼痛管理的決定。如果你患有嚴重慢性頑固性之痛症,您有權要求或拒絕任何緩解疼痛的用藥程序,包括鴉片藥物。醫生可拒絕為鴉片藥物開處方,但必須提供有關其它治療嚴重慢性頑固性痛症之專科醫生的資料,其治療方法包括使用鴉片藥物。
  10. 擬立醫療護理事前指示,這包括指定一個代表在你無法明白治療建議或無法傳達您的治療意願時幫助你。醫院工作人員或醫生將會按照您的事前指示來提供醫療照顧。所有替病人執行治療決定之代表同樣享有病人等同權益。
  11. 個人私隱權應獲得尊重。病例討論、諮詢、檢查以及診療均應謹慎進行及保密。您有權知道其他人在場之原因。在進行檢查及討論病程治療前,您有權要求訪客離開。在半私家病房裡,將使用私隱布簾。
  12. 所有關於您的治療及留院之通訊及記錄都應保密處理。您將會收到一份詳細解釋您的私隱權的「私隱權政策通知」,並說明本院可能怎樣使用及披露您「受保護的醫療記錄」。
  13. 在有安全設置,及不受精神、身體、性或語言之虐待、疏忽照顧、剝削或騷擾下獲得治療。您有權享有保護和倡導的各種服務,包括向政府機關報告疏忽照顧或虐待事宜。
  14. 免受員工為了強迫、處罰、圖方便或報復的目的而採取的任何形式的限制或隔離。
  15. 獲得合理的後續護理,以及預先知道預約治療之時間、地點及提供醫療服務人仕之資料。
  16. 醫生或其代表應告知您在出院後的繼續治療之要求及選擇。你有權參與制定及實施你的出院計劃。如果經您要求,一位朋友或親人亦可以得到這份資料。
  17. 認識適用於您作為病人的醫院規定及政策。
  18. 如果您有能力作決定時,你可指定你選擇的訪客,他們毋須與您有血親或姻親關係,但以下情況除外:
    • 謝絕探病期間。
    • 當院方持有理由相信某位訪客的出現會危及病人、院方職員以及其他院內訪客之健康或安全,或會顯著妨礙院方正常運作。
    • 您已知會醫院拒絕某位人仕之探訪。然而,院方可制定其合理之探訪限制,包括限制探訪時間及訪客人數。
  19. 如果您缺乏能力決定誰可以探病時,院方應考慮到您的意願。考慮的方法會在醫院探訪規則中公佈。至少,院方將允許任何與您同住的人前來探訪。
  20. 不論您以任何種形式支付醫療費用,您有權查詢醫療費用帳單並獲得解釋,無論您使用任何付款來源。
  21. 不論性別、經濟狀況、教育程度、種族、膚色、宗教,祖先、原國籍、性取向或婚姻狀況或支付醫療費用來源,均有權享有這些權利。
  22. 提出申訴。 如果您想向醫院提出申訴,您可以書面或致電:Chinese Hospital Patient Relations, 845 Jackson Street, San Francisco, CA 94133. 電話: 內線 2492 或 1-415-677-2492
  23. 無論您是否使用醫院的申訴程序,都可向加州公共衛生部提出投訴, 350 90th Street, 2nd Floor Daly City, CA 94015. 熱線: 1-800-554-0353 及電話: 1-650-301-9971或致電: The Joint Commission Office of Quality Monitoring at 1-800-994-6610

病人責任:

作為一位東華醫院病人,我們期望您會:

  1. 詢問您的醫生或護士有關治療是否會引起疼痛以及緩解疼痛的方法。
  2. 與您的醫生或護士討論緩解疼痛的可選擇方案。
  3. 與您的醫生或護士商討以制定緩解疼痛的方法。
  4. 疼痛一開始時,請即告知醫生或護士以尋求止痛方法。
  5. 協協助醫生和護士了解您疼痛的程度。
  6. 若疼痛不能消除,應告知醫生或護士。
  7. 如您對止痛藥物有顧慮,應告知醫生或護士。

資料的提供

病人應該儘量將目前身體不適之處、過去的疾病歷、住院、藥物、和其他有關健康狀況的資料, 正確及完整地向院方提供。如病情突有轉變,應向主診醫生匯報。病人有責任報告他們是否清楚理解醫療方案的預期過程及其目的。

遵守指示

病人 應該遵從由主診醫生所推薦的治療計劃。除此之外, 當護士及有關醫護人員實行協調的護理計劃,或執行主診醫生的指示,及實施醫院規定及條例時,病人亦應遵從他們的指示。病人有責任依時應診,如未能應約時,應通知醫生或醫院。

拒絕治療

請明白您須對自己的決定及行為負責,包括拒絕治療或不遵從醫生的指示。東華醫院建議您與醫護人員討論或澄清任何疑慮或問題。

醫院的條規和規則及條例

病人及訪客有責任遵守有關病人護理及行為的規定及條例。

尊重和體恤

病人及訪客有責任為其他病人和醫院工作人員的權利設想,以及協助的保持病房安靜、禁煙和控制訪客的數量。病人有責任尊重其他病人和醫院的財物。

醫療護理事前指示

東華醫院的服務聲明

東華醫院會尊重病人的「醫療照護事前指示」(「給醫生的指示書」或「醫療護理決定持續代理授權書」) 授權某位人仕代表病人作出治療決定。
本院不會有條件地提供醫療服務,亦不會基於有否執行「醫療護理事前指示」而歧視任何人仕。

Patient Rights & Responsibilities

Patient Rights & Responsibilities

Patient Rights

As a consumer of health care, you have important patient rights to ensure that you receive the health care you deserve. All your rights as a health care consumer also apply to the person who may have legal responsibility to make decisions regarding your health care. By learning your rights and accepting responsibilities, you can be an informed health care consumer.

You have the right to:

  1. Considerate and respectful care, and to be made comfortable. You have the right to respect for your cultural, psychosocial, spiritual, and personal values, beliefs and preferences.
  2. Have a family member (or other representative of your choosing) and your own physician notified promptly of your admission to the hospital.
  3. Know the name of the physician who has primary responsibility for coordinating your care and the names and professional relationships of other physicians and non-physicians who will see you.
  4. Receive information about your health status, diagnosis, prognosis, course of treatment, prospects for recovery and outcomes of care (including unanticipated outcomes) in terms you can understand. You have the right to effective communication and to participate in the development and implementation of your plan of care. You have the right to participate in ethical questions that arise in the course of your care, including issues of conflict resolution, withholding resuscitative services, and forgoing or withdrawing life-sustaining treatment.
  5. Make decisions regarding medical care, and receive as much information about any proposed treatment or procedure as you may need in order to give informed consent or to refuse a course of treatment. Except in emergencies, this information shall include a description of the procedure or treatment, the medically significant risks involved, alternate courses of treatment or non-treatment and the risks involved in each, and the name of the person who will carry out the procedure or treatment.
  6. Request or refuse treatment, to the extent permitted by law. However, you do not have the right to demand inappropriate or medically unnecessary treatment or services. You have the right to leave the hospital even against the advice of physicians, to the extent permitted by law.
  7. Be advised if the hospital/personal physician proposes to engage in or perform human experimentation affecting your care or treatment. You have the right to refuse to participate in such research projects.
  8. Reasonable responses to any reasonable requests made for service.
  9. Appropriate assessment and management of your pain, information about pain, pain relief measures and to participate in pain management decisions. You may request or reject the use of any or all modalities to relieve pain, including opiate medication, if you suffer from severe chronic intractable pain. The doctor may refuse to prescribe the opiate medication, but if so, must inform you that there are physicians who specialize in the treatment of severe chronic intractable pain with methods that include the use of opiates.
  10. Formulate advance directives. This includes designating a decision maker if you become incapable of understanding a proposed treatment or become unable to communicate your wishes regarding care. Hospital staff and practitioners who provide care in the hospital shall comply with these directives. All patients’ rights apply to the person who has legal responsibility to make decisions regarding medical care on your behalf.
  11. Have personal privacy respected. Case discussion, consultation, examination and treatment are confidential and should be conducted discreetly. You have the right to be told the reason for the presence of any individual. You have the right to have visitors leave prior to an examination and when treatment issues are being discussed. Privacy curtains will be used in semi-private rooms.
  12. Confidential treatment of all communications and records pertaining to your care and stay in the hospital. You will receive a separate “Notice of Privacy Practices” that explains your privacy rights in detail and how Chinese Hospital may use and disclose your protected health information.
  13. Receive care in a safe setting, free from mental, physical, sexual or verbal abuse and neglect, exploitation or harassment. You have the right to access protective and advocacy services including notifying government agencies of neglect or abuse.
  14. Be free from restraints and seclusion of any form used as a means of coercion, discipline, convenience or retaliation by staff.
  15. Reasonable continuity of care and to know in advance the time and location of appointments as well as the identity of the persons providing the care.
  16. Be informed by the physician, or a delegate of the physician, of continuing health care requirements and options following discharge from the hospital. You have the right to be involved in the development and implementation of your discharge plan. Upon your request, a friend or family member may also be provided this information.
  17. Know which hospital rules and policies apply to your conduct while a patient.
  18. Designate visitors of your choosing, if you have decision-making capacity, whether or not the visitor is related by blood or marriage, unless:
    • No visitors are allowed.
    • The facility reasonably determines that the presence of a particular visitor would endanger the health or safety of a patient, a member of the health facility staff or other visitor to the health facility, or would significantly disrupt the operations of the facility.
    • You have told the health facility staff that you no longer want a particular person to visit. However, a health facility may establish reasonable restrictions upon visitation, including restrictions upon the hours of visitation and number of visitors
  19. Have your wishes considered, if you lack decision-making capacity, for the purposes of determining who may visit. The method of that consideration will be disclosed in the hospital policy on visitation. At a minimum, the hospital shall include any persons living in your household.
  20. Examine and receive an explanation of the hospital’s bill regardless of the source of payment.
  21. Exercise these rights without regard to sex, economic status, educational background, race, color, religion, ancestry, national origin, sexual orientation or marital status or the source of payment for care.
  22. File a grievance. If you want to file a grievance with the hospital, you may do so by writing or calling: Chinese Hospital Patient Relations, 845 Jackson Street, San Francisco, CA 94133. Telephone: ext. 2492 or 1-415-677-2492
  23. File a complaint with the state Department of Public Health, 350 90th Street, 2nd Floor Daly City, CA 94015. Hotline: 1-800-554-0353 and Telephone: 1-650-301-9971 or call the Joint Commission Office of Quality Monitoring at 1-800-994-6610 regardless of whether you use the hospital’s grievance process. 

This Patient Rights document incorporates the requirements of the Joint Commission; Title 22, California Code of Regulations, Section 70707; Health and Safety Code Sections 1262.6, 1288.4, and 124960; and 42 C.F.R. Section 482.13 (Medicare Conditions of Participation).

Patient Responsibilities

As a patient at Chinese Hospital, we expect that you will:

  • Ask your doctor or nurse what to expect regarding pain and pain management,
  • Discuss pain relief options with your doctors and nurses,
  • Work with your doctor and nurse to develop a pain management plan,
  • Ask for pain relief when pain first begins,
  • Help your doctor and nurse assess your pain,
  • Tell your doctor or nurse if your pain is not relieved, and
  • Tell your doctor or nurse about any worries you have about taking pain medication.

Provision of Information

You must provide, to the best of your knowledge, accurate and complete information about present complaints, past illnesses, hospitalizations, medications, and other matters relating to your health. Report unexpected changes in your condition to the responsible practitioner. Patients are responsible for reporting whether they clearly comprehend a contemplated course of action and what is expected of them.

Compliance Instructions

Follow the treatment plan recommended by the practitioner primarily responsible for your care. This includes following the instructions of nurses and allied health personnel as they carry out the coordinated plan of care, implement the responsible practitioner’s orders, and enforce the applicable hospital rules and regulations. The patient is responsible for keeping appointments, and for notifying the practitioner or the hospital when they are unable to do so.

Refusal of Treatment

Please understand you are responsible for your decisions and actions, including refusing treatment or not following the practitioner’s instructions. Chinese Hospital advises you to discuss or clarify any concerns or issues with your caregivers.

Hospital Rules and Regulations

Patients and visitors are responsible for following hospital rules and regulations regarding patient care and conduct.

Respect and Consideration

Patients and visitors are responsible for being considerate of the rights of other patients and hospital personnel and for assisting in the control of noise, smoking, and the number of visitors.

Patients are responsible for being respectful of the property of other persons and of the hospital.

Advanced Health Care Directives

Chinese Hospital supports the patient’s right to participate in decision making regarding medical care, including the right to refuse treatment, including life-sustaining treatment. You may provide oral or written individual healthcare instructions and/or appoint an agent to make healthcare decisions through a Power of Attorney for Healthcare.  It is the patient’s or surrogate decision maker’s responsibility to provide a copy of the Advance Health Care Directive to the hospital so that it can be placed in the medical record. If you would like more information, ask your doctor, nurse or social worker, or call “California Health Decisions” at 1-714-647-4920.

Chinese Hospital Practice Statement

Chinese Hospital shall respect the patient’s Advance Health Care Directive (Directive to Physician or Durable Power of Attorney for Health Care) authorizing another person to make health care decisions on behalf of the patient.

The hospital does not condition the provision of care or otherwise discriminate against anyone based on whether or not an Advance Health Care Directive has been executed.