2018年11月13日

東華醫院於11月13日舉行第44屆華裔醫學傑出人士頒獎典禮。今年獲此殊榮的是著名香港中文大學醫學院臨床腫瘤學系教授、中大癌症病人針灸中心主管、廣東省人民醫院名譽教授,兼任電視節目主持及雜誌專欄作者莫樹錦醫學博士。

莫樹錦醫生,於加拿大艾伯塔大學接受醫學培訓,並於多倫多瑪嘉烈醫院取得腫瘤內科院士資格。在多倫多作為社區腫瘤科醫生執業七年之後,莫醫生於1996年返回香港並開始追求學術生涯。

莫樹錦醫生是香港中文大學醫學院腫瘤學系系主任兼李樹芬醫學基金腫瘤學教授。莫教授的學術興趣集中在研究與肺癌有關的生物標記及分子標靶治療。莫教授共同創立了「肺癌研究組」(Lung Cancer Research Group),並領導了一系列重要的跨國臨床試驗,其中包括里程碑式的IPASS 研究(IRESSA Pan-Asia Study), 正式確立了標靶治療藥物吉非替尼(gefitinib)為EGFR基因變異肺癌的第一線療法之地位。

莫教授已經在國際頂尖醫學期刊如《新英格蘭醫學期刊》(The New England Journal of Medicine)、《科學》(Science)、《柳葉刀》(The Lancet)、及《臨床腫瘤學期刊》(Journal of Clinical Oncology)等發表逾220篇論文,並發表多篇編者意見、出版多本教科書。他在服務學術界方面非常活躍且富有經驗。他目前是美國臨床腫瘤醫學會研究員(FASCO),美國臨床腫瘤醫學會(ASCO)國際事務委員會前任主席,國際肺癌研究協會(IASLC)財務長及前任會長,美國臨床腫瘤醫學會(ASCO)出版委員會委員,中國臨床腫瘤學會(CSCO)副秘書長。

莫樹錦醫生與中國腫瘤學界保持緊密聯繫,並已經接受了廣東省人民醫院名譽教授,北京大學腫瘤學院客座教授,上海交通大學、四川大學華西臨床醫學院/華西醫院的訪問教授等職位。他是《臨床腫瘤學期刊》(Journal of Clinical Oncology)的胸腔腫瘤學副編輯。他亦是八本中文書的作者,且是香港三個電視系列節目的主持人。

 

關於東華醫院華裔醫學傑出人士獎

東華醫院自1973年以來,每年都會舉辦頒獎典禮,向在醫學領域對亞裔社區有傑出貢獻以及對亞裔醫護人員帶來啓發的人士。與此同時,醫院透過這項活動來增加大家對醫療科學、健康教育以及社區領袖方面的最新發展。獲獎人包括諾貝爾醫學奬得主Baruch Blumberg醫生、發明愛滋病療法的何大一醫生、及世界上首位發現「囊狀纖維變性病」遺傳基因的科學家徐立之教授等。

傳媒聯絡:
Jenni Lau
chingyeel@chasf.org
1-415-677-2378

Nov 13, 2018

Chinese Hospital held the 44th Annual Award Ceremony on November 13th. Dr. Tony Mok, a renowned leader in the research and treatment of Lung Cancer, is the recipient of this year’s award.

Dr. Mok was trained at the University of Alberta, Canada and he subsequently completed a fellowship in medical oncology at the Princess Margaret Hospital in Canada. After working as a community oncologist in Toronto, Canada for seven years, he returned to Hong Kong in 1996 to pursue an academic career.

Dr. Mok is Li Shu Fan Medical Foundation Named Professor of Clinical Oncology and Chairman of Clinical Oncology at The Chinese University of Hong Kong (Hong Kong). His main research interest focuses on biomarker and molecular targeted therapy in lung cancer. He co-founded the Lung Cancer Research Group, and led a number of important multinational clinical trials, which include the IPASS (IRESSA Pan-Asia Study), a landmark study that established the role of first-line gefitinib in patients with EGFR mutation.

Professor Mok has contributed to over 220 articles in international peer-reviewed journals, including the New England Journal of Medicine, Science, Lancet and Journal of Clinical Oncology, and contributed to multiple editorials and textbooks. He is active and experienced in serving the academic societies. He is now Fellow of American Society of Clinical Oncology (FASCO), Past Chair of the ASCO International Affairs Committee, Treasurer and Past President of the International Association for the Study of Lung Cancer (IASLC), a member of the ASCO Publications Committee and Vice Secretary of the Chinese Society of Clinical Oncology (CSCO).

Dr. Mok is closely affiliated with the oncology community in China, and has received an Honorary Professorship at Guang Dong Province People’s Hospital, Guest Professorship at Peking University School of Oncology, Visiting Professorship at Shanghai Jiao Tong University and West China School of Medicine/West China Hospital, Sichuan University. He is an Associate Editor on Thoracic Oncology for Journal of Clinical Oncology.  He has also authored eight books in Chinese and hosted three television series in Hong Kong.

 

About Chinese Hospital Annual Award

Since 1973, and every year thereafter, the Board of Trustees, Medical Staff and Continuing Medical Education of Chinese Hospital have sponsored a full-day event to honor an individual for outstanding contributions to healthcare in the Asian American community. The award also serves to raise awareness of important achievements in medical sciences, health education, and community leadership. Past award recipients include: Baruch Blumberg, MD (Nobel Prize recipient for the HepB antigen); David Ho, MD (Man of the Year from Time-Magazine for his research on AIDS); and Professor Lap-Chee TSUI OC, PhD, FRS, FRSC, GBM, GBS, JP (Founding President of the Academy of Sciences of Hong Kong).

Media Contact:
Jenni Lau
chingyeel@chasf.org
1-415-677-2378